2019 cataract poster prizewinners in Paris

Donald Munro Donald Munro Follow Sep 15, 2019 · 1 min read
2019 cataract poster prizewinners in Paris
Share this

The First prize for cataract posters was awarded to Daniel H Chang MD, USA, for his poster “Visual outcomes and defocus curve profile of a next-generation diffractive presbyopia-correcting intraocular lens”.

ESCRS President presented the First Prize to Daniel Chang

![](https://i1.wp.com/djapplelab.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/Greg-award.jpg?fit=768%2C1024&ssl=1 =357x475)Béatrice Cochener-Lamard, the President of the ESCRS presented the award to Dr Grzegorz Labuz

Prof. Gerd Auffarth, the Head of the David J Apple Laboratory, was co-author of Dr Chang’s poster which presented defocus curve and visual acuity outcomes from a multi-centre randomised study that included 148 patients bilaterally implanted with the TECNIS Synergy IOL or the +3.25D TECNIS Multifocal IOL

The study found that the TECNIS Synergy IOL maintained excellent continuous vision up to 33cm with distance vision better than 1.0 (20/20). Compared with the multifocal IOL, the TECNIS Synergy provided both better DCIVA and had a better range of vision.

The Second prize for cataract posters went to Grzegorz Łabuz from The Apple Lab in Heidelberg for his poster describing “Laboratory assessment of the effect of spectral filters on the optical performance in an extended-depth-of-focus intraocular lens”.

Donald Munro
Written by Donald Munro Follow
Donald J. Munro is the Business Development Director of the Laboratory, University of Heidelberg.